Fresno Underage DUI Lawyer
Call (559) 484-2112 to Obtain Experienced Legal Services
In California, the legal drinking age is 21 years old and consumption of alcohol by anyone under the legal age is not allowed. This means that if you are pulled over for suspicion of drunk driving, any amount of alcohol in an underage driver’s body warrants a DUI arrest.
Penalties for an Underage DUI
Depending on an underage driver’s BAC, the penalties vary.
If your BAC is under 0.05%, you may face an infraction in traffic court and an action by a DMV. A conviction of a first offense often results in licenses suspension for one year, unless you refuse to submit to a chemical test or were found in violations of other sections of the state vehicle code.
If your BAC is between 0.05% and 0.07%, it becomes an infraction and you face the following penalties:
- License suspension
- Alcohol education program
- Possible order to abstain from drinking until you are 21 by the judge
If your BAC is above 0.08%, you will be charged with an adult DUI offense, despite your age. A first offense DUI for an adult in punishable by a jail sentence between four days and six months, fines of up to $1,000, and a license suspension for at least four months.
Let Us Start Your Case Today! Free Consultations Available.
If you are under the age of 21 and were recently arrested and charged with a DUI in Northern California, The Law Office of Brian C. Andritch is committed to protecting your rights and your future. With more than 15 years of experience, our Fresno DUI lawyer has a comprehensive understanding of state law to help you navigate through the complexities of the legal system.
Contact us and request a free consultation.