There is never a good time or place to face a charge for driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI). A DUI charge carries serious consequences, including jail time in some cases. It is bad to face a DUI charge in your home state, but what if you are in another state? How does that work? If you are an out-of-state driver and you are charged with DUI, you should expect to face whatever DUI penalties the state you are visiting has on the books.
What Are the DUI Laws in California?
In California, drivers are not allowed to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In the case of alcohol, drivers are prohibited from operating a motor vehicle if they have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. Commercial drivers are not allowed to drive with a BAC of .04 percent or more. Drivers under the age of 21 are prohibited from driving with a BAC of .01 percent or higher.
In addition to having driving under the influence (DUI) laws that cover driving cars and trucks. California also has DUI laws that impact those who drive motorcycles, scooters, and boats.
California DUI Penalties
The punishments for a DUI conviction in California can be strict, especially for repeat offenders. The following are the penalties for being convicted of DUI in California:
- First Offense – For a first offense, drivers can face license suspension for up to 6 months, from 48 hours to up to 6 months in jail, 3 to 5 years of probation, and up to $1,000 in fines (possibly more with penalty assessments).
- Second Offense – A second offense will net a driver from 96 hours to up to a year in prison, 3 to 5 years of probation, up to $1,000 in fines (more with penalty assessments), and a 2-year license suspension.
- Third Offense – If a driver is convicted of DUI for a third time, they can expect to spend 120 days to up to a year in prison and face a 3-year license suspension, up to $1,000 in fines (plus penalty assessments), and from 3 to 5 years of probation.
In addition, DUIs involving injury or death, felony DUI, aggravated DUI, or a DUI involving a child carry far greater penalties than those listed above.
Call Our Out-of-State DUI Lawyer for a Free Consultation
A DUI charge can be scary, but there is help available. At The Law Office of Brian C. Andritch, our criminal defense attorney has been successfully providing DUI defense to out-of-state drivers facing DUI charges for years. Attorney Andritch has been handling criminal cases for over 20 years. Before becoming a defense lawyer, Attorney Andritch spent several years as Fresno County’s Deputy District Attorney. His time as a prosecutor gives him a unique insight into how the other side thinks. Attorney Andritch can often anticipate the moves the prosecution will make before they make them and be able to have a defense strategy ready to counteract their tactics.
For more information about The Law Office of Brian C. Andritch, read our clients’ testimonials.
To set up a free consultation with our experienced out-of-state DUI lawyer, call us at (559) 484-2112 or get in touch with us online. We’re available 24/7 to help you.