A statute of a blindfolded woman holding up the scales of justice.

What Are the Penalties for Running from the Police in California?

Near the end of July, a man was arrested for allegedly stealing a car and running from police in Glendale. Per Glendaleca.gov, the website for the City of Glendale, the incident happened around 11 pm on a Saturday when police spotted the stolen vehicle at the intersection of Lomita Street and Everett Street. The vehicle was pulled over, but in the middle of the felony traffic stop, the driver of the stolen vehicle sped away.

The driver in the stolen vehicle ran several red lights as he fled the police. However, he eventually reached a dead end. Despite police having him cornered and giving him commands to exit the vehicle, the driver of the stolen car instead put the vehicle in reverse, turned the vehicle around, hit a police car, and continued to flee.

The driver of the stolen car was cornered again in a parking lot. The stolen car and a police vehicle collided. Police ordered the driver to exit the stolen car. He didn’t comply initially, but eventually he did exit the vehicle. The driver was arrested for driving with a suspended license, vehicle theft, vandalism, driving without an interlock device, assaulting police officers, and felony evading. As of this report, there have been no updates on the status of this case.

Penalties for Running from Police in California

People can face severe punishment for running from police (also known as felony evading) in California. The following are the penalties for running from police in California:

  • Misdemeanor – Up to $1,000 in fines and up to a year in jail.
  • Felony – Up to three years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
  • Felony with Injury or Death – For a felony with injury, the punishment can be up to $10,000 in fines and up to seven years in prison. For a felony with death, the punishment can be up to 10 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.

You can also have points added to your license if you’re convicted of felony evading. If you accumulate four points within a year, your license could be revoked or suspended.

What Should You Do If You’re Charged with Felony Evading?

If you’re facing charges for running from police, there are a few defenses that an experienced criminal defense attorney can help you devise and prove, such as:

  • It wasn’t your intention to evade police
  • The initial attempts to pull you over were illegal

At The Law Office of Brian C. Andritch, our experienced legal team always puts what’s best for our clients first. Our top priority is protecting you and defending your legal rights. We can design a criminal defense strategy that can help get the charges against you reduced or even dismissed. Our experienced criminal defense lawyer has helped several clients secure the best possible outcome for their situations, and he can do the same for you.

To learn more about Attorney Andritch, and The Law Office of Brian C. Andritch, read our clients’ testimonials.

For more information about felony evading, or to speak with our dedicated criminal defense attorney about your situation, call us at (559) 484-2112 or contact us online today for a free, no-obligation consultation.

Categories