DUI While on Vacation
If you are from out-of-state and got arrested for DUI while on your California vacation, you are subject to the state penalties--just like any resident. Yet, there are some complexities throughout the legal process and it will also have an impact on your driving privileges in your home state.
First, your driver's license will be suspended in 30 days. While you retain your license, California authorities will alert your home state, who will choose to uphold the suspension.
Fortunately, you have ten days from the date of your DUI arrest to file a hearing request with the DMV and fight the suspension.
Keep in mind, your DMV hearing could be scheduled months down the road. If you are able to resolve your case in court before the date of the hearing, then the hearing is considered not necessary. So it is imperative that you do not miss the 10-day deadline.
How to Fight a California DUI
At The Law Office of Brian C. Andritch, our Fresno criminal defense lawyer has help dismissed thousands of cases on behalf of his clients for more than 18 years. We have a thorough understanding of the California legal system to guide you through the complexities of your case. As a former prosecutor, our founding attorney can anticipate how the prosecution will approach your case, giving you an advantage in the courtroom.
For more information, contact us and request a free consultation today.